Fast-acting is real, and it is about forty minutes, not ten. Colorado State University fed seven regular users 10mg of THC from five retail products, two Wana gummies (the fast-acting Quick and the regular Sour) and three from Ripple's water-soluble line, and drew blood for four hours. Every product peaked between 36 and 91 minutes on average. The fast-acting Wana peaked at 51 minutes, the regular Wana at 62, and the trial could not tell them apart from chance. It did find more THC in the blood at 20 and 30 minutes after the Ripple products, a real edge and a modest one. Stillwater Brands, which makes Ripple, paid for the study.

So this ranking ignores claimed minutes, which nobody outside a marketing department has measured, and ranks by four things a patient can check: a human blood study on the product or its carrier, a 5mg or 2.5mg piece, the price of 5mg of THC on a named licensed menu, and a legal shelf on December 11. Fast onset has one medical job, and it is narrow: the symptom that arrives on its own schedule, the nausea wave, the pain flare, the panic, the hour of lying awake after the standard gummy should have landed. For the 5mg at 9pm every night it is a shorter curve with a steeper trough, bought at a premium, and that patient belongs on the gummy ranking.

The states already know this, and the comedy lives in the gap. The Kanha NANO listing at Purple Star in San Francisco reads "Onset starts around 5-15 minutes. Wait 60 minutes for full effect," and the box it describes carries, by California law, a capital-letter warning that the intoxicating effects can be delayed up to two hours. Colorado's mandated label says four hours, New York's says four or more, Health Canada's says four. The box argues with the label on the box, and the label is the one with a regulator behind it.

Not medical advice
This page summarizes published research and reported patient experience. It is not medical advice. Consult a physician before starting any cannabis regimen, particularly if you take other medications or have a diagnosed sleep disorder. Onset figures from brands are claims, not measurements; the one controlled trial of retail fast-acting products enrolled seven people.

How fast do fast-acting edibles actually work?

Between 36 and 91 minutes to peak blood THC in the one trial that timed retail fast-acting products, and roughly one hour against roughly three for the reformulated capsules and powders that have been tested against standard oil. No peer-reviewed human study has measured a 5 to 15 minute onset for anything swallowed. Those figures are brand claims.

The retail trial is Ewell and colleagues (2021, Pharmaceuticals): fifteen enrolled, seven finished the crossover, every product at 10mg. The paper's summary: "Time-to-peak plasma THC concentration ranged between 35 and 90 min; maximal plasma THC concentration (Cmax) ranged between 3.2 and 5.5 ng/mL." Across products the test returned p = 0.548 for time to peak and p = 0.110 for peak level, no difference the study could stand behind. The early curve did clear the bar: at 20 minutes, blood THC was higher after the Ripple gummies than after either Wana (p = 0.003 and p < 0.001). Ripple QuickSticks averaged 90.7 minutes with a standard deviation of 84.6, which is seven stomachs disagreeing, and it is the most useful number on this page.

StudyWhat was swallowednTime to peak, fast vs comparatorFunder
Ewell 2021Five retail products at 10mg THC: three Ripple, Wana Fast Acting, Wana Sour7 regular usersMeans of 36 to 91 minutes across products; fast-acting Wana 51 vs regular Wana 62; differences not significant (p = 0.548)Stillwater Brands (Ripple)
Hermush 2025Self-nanoemulsifying THC and CBD powder stirred into water vs oil drops, 8mg of each14THC 2.89 vs 4.25 hours, not significant (p = 0.393); 11-OH-THC 0.86 vs 4.54 hours; THC peak 32.79 vs 10.17 ng/mLCapsoil Technologies (its CEO is a coauthor)
Knaub 2019VESIsorb CBD capsule vs CBD in MCT oil, 25mg, fasted161.0 vs 3.0 hours; peak 4.4-fold higher. CBD only. The carrier Kanha names.Not stated in abstract
Atsmon 2018PTL401 pro-nano dispersion capsule vs Sativex oromucosal spray14 menMedian 1.3 vs 3.5 hours for both THC and CBD; peak 1.6-foldNot stated in abstract
Cherniakov 2017Piperine pro-nanolipospheres vs Sativex spray9THC peak 3-fold and exposure 1.5-fold higher; time to peak not reported in the abstractNot stated in abstract
Mödinger 2022VESIsorb beta-caryophyllene (a terpene, not a cannabinoid) vs neat oil, 100mg241.43 vs 3.07 hours. Kanha's second linked study.Not stated in abstract
Vandrey 2017; Schlienz 2020Conventional brownies at 10, 25 and 50mg THC (the baseline)6 per dose; 17Effects began 30 to 60 minutes after eating, peaked at 1.5 to 3 hours, lasted 6 to 8Academic

Every reformulation in the table moves the peak from roughly three hours to roughly one, and none gets near ten minutes. For scale, the conventional clock as our onset and duration guide sets it: onset 30 minutes to 2 hours with the typical delay at 30 to 90 minutes, peak at 2 to 3 hours, 4 to 8 hours of main effect and up to 12 at higher doses. The fast-acting numbers this site quotes are Wana's claim, held on the fast-acting explainer: 5 to 15 minutes and 2 to 4 hours, against 45 to 90 minutes and 4 to 6 hours for its Classic gummies. The blood says the first figure is optimistic by a factor of three or four. Nobody has published duration data for a retail fast-acting gummy at all.

Which fast-acting edible should a patient buy for breakthrough symptoms?

Ripple's dissolvable powder for the patient who wants the one product with a human trial on itself and a dose that splits to any size, Kanha NANO or Select Nano Bites for a 5mg gummy grid at under a dollar per 5mg, Wana Quick for distribution. Ranked below by evidence, dose grid, channel and the pre-tax price of 5mg of THC, the breakthrough dose on our dosing guide, on menus read November 2, 2026.

RankProductPer piece and packHuman studyBrand's onset claimPrice, menu (Nov 2)Per 5mg THC
1Ripple Pure 10 (Stillwater), water-soluble powder10 packets x 10mg; splits to any doseYes, on the product (Ewell 2021)"enter the bloodstream within 10 minutes"$16.99, WYZE, Horn Lake, MS; Revive 1:1 CBG $12.77, Emerald Cut, Pocola, OK$0.85; $0.64
2Kanha NANO gummies20 x 5mg (CA) or 10 x 10mgOn the VESIsorb carrier only (CBD, a terpene)"it only takes minutes"; retail listing 5 to 15 minutes$17, Purple Star, San Francisco; $18, Elevated SF; $22, Beyond Hello, Bloomington, IL$0.85 to $1.10
3Wana Quick (Relief, Strawberry Lime 1:1, Limoncello)10 x 10mg; Limoncello 20 x 5mgYes, on the product (Ewell 2021): did not beat Wana's regular gummy"hits in 5-15 minutes"$15, JARS, Mt Clemens, MI; $21.50, Skunked, Thornton, CO; $28, Callie's, Northglenn, CO$0.75 to $1.40
4Select Nano Bites (Curaleaf)20 x 5mgNo"kick in fast (15-30 minutes)"$11.20 from $14, Curaleaf Wells, ME (medical)$0.56 ($0.70 at list)
51906 Drops (Bliss 5mg THC + 5mg CBD)20 x 5mg; Genius and Love at 2.5mgNo"rapid onset of 20 minutes"$25, Quincy Cannabis Co and Uma Flowers (MA); $30, High Profile, Boston; $35, Caroline's, Uxbridge$1.25 to $1.75
6Cann, dispensary versionSocial Tonic 2mg (6-pack); Hi Boy 5mg and Hi'er Boy 10mg (4-packs)No"typical onset of just 10-15 minutes"$19 each pack, Off the Charts, Oxnard, CA$7.92; $4.75; $2.38
7Ayrloom Black Cherry 1:1 THC:CBD sparkling water (New York)5mg THC + 5mg CBD per 12 fl oz canNo"kick in faster + more predictably"; no minute figure$3.00 a can, VedaLeaf, Syracuse, NY; 2:1 10mg cans $4.50$3.00; $2.25
8Jaunty Nano Fast-Acting gummies (New York)10 x 10mg THC + 5mg THCV + 2mg CBCNo"quicker onset times"; no minute figure$15, brand's own store$0.75

1. Ripple Pure 10. The only fast-acting product with a peer-reviewed human trial on itself, and the trial was paid for by its maker; that sentence leads on purpose. Ripple's claim is that it is "proven through peer-reviewed, published, clinical research to enter the bloodstream within 10 minutes," a defensible reading of a blood draw at ten minutes and a generous reading of the word onset. Pure 10 is ten sugar-free 10mg packets that dissolve in anything, so a 2.5mg cup of tea is a two-second operation. $16.99 at WYZE in Horn Lake, Mississippi (a medical store), $30 at other Mississippi counters, and the 1:1 THC:CBG Revive at $12.77 at Emerald Cut in Pocola, Oklahoma, the cheapest 5mg of THC here. Leafly lists Colorado, Michigan and Oklahoma; Ripple's own site offers a locator and no state list.

2. Kanha NANO. The dose grid the category otherwise lacks: Passionfruit Paradise, Cran-Pomegranate and Sublime Key Lime are 20 pieces of 5mg in California, Tangerine Twist and Fruit Punch Fusion 10 pieces of 10mg. Kanha is the one gummy brand that names its carrier (the ingredient list reads "VESIsorb Nanotech") and links two trials of it, one with CBD and one with a terpene, neither a THC gummy. The brand copy stays vague where it counts, "it only takes minutes," and the minute figure lives on retail listings instead. Kanha's site says California; the menus add Illinois and Massachusetts, where Passionfruit Paradise becomes a 10mg piece, so the 5mg grid is a California perk. $17 at Purple Star and $18 at Elevated in San Francisco, $22 at Beyond Hello in Bloomington.

3. Wana Quick. The widest distribution in the category, a fixture on this site's rankings, and the honest critique this page owes: in the one trial that timed it, Wana Fast Acting peaked at 51 minutes against 62 for Wana's own regular gummy, a gap the study could not distinguish from chance. The FAQ says "Wana Quick hits in 5-15 minutes, whereas our Classic gummies take 45-90" and now names the technology, "Nano-encapsulation, built with our tech partner Azuca." The product pages carry the most useful sentence any brand here publishes: wait at least an hour to see how you feel, yes, even if the product is fast-acting. Quick Relief (10mg THC, 10mg CBG, 10mg CBC) was $15 at JARS in Mt Clemens, Michigan, $21.50 at Skunked in Thornton, Colorado and $28 at Callie's in Northglenn; Quick Strawberry Lime 1:1 was $20 on sale from $25 at Chesacanna in Cockeysville, Maryland. The 5mg grid exists here too: Quick Limoncello is 20 pieces of 5mg, $27 at Altocanna in Manhattan. Optimals Fast Asleep ($21.24 at Stashbox in Queens) is a CBD-led sleep piece whose formula changes by state, so it sits outside the per-5mg table.

4. Select Nano Bites. Curaleaf's fast-acting gummy, 20 pieces of 5mg, and the cheapest 5mg of THC on any menu read today: $11.20 marked down from $14 at Curaleaf Wells in Maine, a medical-only store, 56 cents a dose on sale and 70 at list. It also carries the most honest onset claim on the shelf, "formulated with unique water-soluble cannabinoids to kick in fast (15-30 minutes)," a range that at least overlaps the trial data. No study, no named carrier; the brand's own nano page returned no readable text, so the claim is quoted from the Weedmaps listing.

5. 1906 Drops. The finest grid in the ranking: Bliss and Go are 5mg THC with 5mg CBD per swallowable tablet, Genius and Love are 2.5mg pieces. The Leafly description promises a "rapid onset of 20 minutes"; the brand's own store calls the format fast acting and prints the label caution that intoxication can be delayed two or more hours, the two claims sharing a page without embarrassment. On November 2 that store listed every product sold out, Go at $40 and the rest at $0.00; noted, not interpreted. On Massachusetts menus Bliss ran $25 at Quincy Cannabis Co to $35 at Caroline's in Uxbridge, $1.25 to $1.75 per 5mg, the most expensive gummy-format THC here. The 1906 review weighs whether the tablet earns it.

6. Cann, dispensary version. The drink for the alcohol-replacement reader (see edibles and alcohol), and the table says why: at Off the Charts in Oxnard a six-pack of 2mg Social Tonics, a four-pack of 5mg Hi Boys and a four-pack of 10mg Hi'er Boys all cost $19, which is $7.92, $4.75 and $2.38 per 5mg of THC before tax. The claim is "a typical onset of just 10-15 minutes (and the potential to last two-plus hours)." No technology named, no study. A well-made 2mg can and a terrible way to buy 5mg.

7. Ayrloom. The New York pick, from the Beak & Skiff orchard family. The brand says "we use advanced nano-emulsion technology in our gummies + beverages to boost absorption, so the effects kick in faster + more predictably," then tells the buyer to "wait up to an hour before deciding if you need more," and prints no minute figure, to its credit. At VedaLeaf in Syracuse the Black Cherry 1:1 can (5mg THC, 5mg CBD) was $3.00 and the 2:1 10mg cans $4.50. Three dollars for a 5mg can is the fairest drink price in this ranking.

8. Jaunty. Another New York brand, included because the milligrams checked out: the Blueberry Lemonade Nano Fast-Acting Gummies are a 10-pack at 100mg THC, 50mg THCV and 20mg CBC, $15 on the brand's own store. "Advanced nano-emulsification technology," "quicker onset times," no minutes, no study. It sits last because the only price is the brand's own.

What to avoid: the hemp mail-order drinks, the loudest claims in the category with no study behind any of them. Brēz says "Most feel the effects within 5-15 minutes, lasting around 1.5 hours," elsewhere "micronized extracts that kick in within 5 minutes," and credits a "proprietary ultra-sonic acoustic micronization technology." Wynk says "in about 10-15 minutes." Cann sells its 2mg can by mail at $73 for twelve, $15.21 per 5mg against $7.92 at the Oxnard counter. None has a legal shelf after December 11. The reviews of Brēz, Cann, Wynk and Cycling Frog carry the specs. Said once: Kiva, Wyld and Papa & Barkley make no onset claim and no fast-acting SKU, so they are not here.

Why does the box say 15 minutes when the label says four hours?

Because the minute figure is marketing and the hours figure is law. California requires every cannabis label to warn that intoxicating effects can be delayed up to two hours, Colorado puts a four-hour delayed-effect statement on every edible container, New York requires four or more hours on anything swallowed, and Health Canada's edible warning says four. None of the five regulators below bars an onset-speed claim outright.

RegulatorWhat the label must sayRuleWhat the brands on the same shelf say
California"THE INTOXICATING EFFECTS OF CANNABIS PRODUCTS MAY BE DELAYED UP TO TWO HOURS."BPC 26120(c)(1)(B)Kanha retail listing 5 to 15 minutes; Cann 10 to 15
ColoradoThe intoxicating effects of this product "delayed by up to 4 hours"1 CCR 212-3, Rule 3-1015(B)(3)(b)Wana 5 to 15 minutes; Ripple "within 10 minutes"
New YorkWarning: effects of this product "delayed by 4 or more hours"9 NYCRR 128.5(f)(6)1906 20 minutes; Ayrloom and Jaunty no figure
Michigan"Activation time expressed in words or through a pictogram"; no delayed-onset warningR 420.504(1)(g)Wana 5 to 15 minutes
Health Canada"WARNING: It can take up to 4 hours to feel effects from eating or drinking cannabis."Warning messages in effect March 12, 2025Applies to every edible sold in Canada, whatever the box says

The two texts answer different questions. The regulator writes for the slowest stomach in the state, the person who ate a gummy after a steak dinner and will feel it at hour three, because that person is the one who re-doses and meets an emergency department. The brand writes for the fastest one. Neither California nor New York permits a health-related statement that is untrue or misleading (4 CCR 17408; 9 NYCRR 128.6(a)(2) and (3)), which is why the minute figures live on retailer listings and brand websites far more often than on the regulated panel of the box. Michigan is the outlier: its rule asks for an activation time in words or a pictogram and no delayed-onset warning, so a Wana Quick pack sold there carries a time the brand chose.

Is nano-emulsion the same thing as fast-acting?

No. Nano-emulsion is one of several ways to make a cannabinoid behave in water, and most fast-acting brands do not use the word for their own product. Kanha names VESIsorb, Ripple and Select say water-soluble, Ayrloom, Jaunty and Brēz say nano-emulsion, Cann and 1906 name nothing, and Wana's partner Azuca calls its process an encapsulation and says it is surfactant-free, which an emulsion is not.

Azuca's homepage is the sharpest vocabulary lesson in the category. It promises a "fast onset time of 5-15 minutes," claims more than 800 million servings, and says in the same scroll that "Traditional edibles have problems, and 'nano' is not the answer," crediting an "encapsulation and surfactant-free process." An emulsion holds oil in water with a surfactant; a surfactant-free encapsulation is a different mechanism with a different name. Wana's FAQ calls the same process nano-encapsulation, so brand and supplier agree on everything except the prefix. (This site called Wana Quick a nano-emulsion on a dozen pages until this week; the fast-acting explainer now has it right.) For a buyer the honest vocabulary is "fast-acting" as the category word and "nano" only where a brand prints it on its own label; the measurement says about forty minutes to peak whatever the carrier is called.

What does the December 11 hemp ban do to fast-acting drinks?

It removes the hemp half of the category. On December 11, 2026 the federal hemp definition drops any product over 0.4mg of total THC per container, which covers every hemp THC seltzer sold by mail. Five says its seltzers will not be restocked, and Brēz, Wynk and Cann's mail-order 12-pack fall under the same definition. The dispensary versions of Cann, Wynk and Ayrloom are state-licensed cannabis and are untouched.

Vice reported on October 26 that Five's entire THC seltzer lineup, the 2mg and the 10mg cans, is being discontinued on December 11, and Five's own storefront on November 2 read like a closing sale: "stock up on 10mg & 15mg gummies before December," "these won't be restocked," both seltzer packs marked sold out. Cycling Frog's site still listed 5 to 10mg seltzers with no notice at all. The hemp ban page tracks the dates and the guide to hemp gummies after the ban walks a mail-order buyer to a licensed counter. For this ranking the point is simpler: half the category is a hemp seltzer with a five-minute claim and no study, and on December 11 it stops being a category.

When fast-acting is the wrong product

Three situations. Maintenance dosing, the 5mg at the same hour every night, wants the long curve, because the faster curve produces a steeper trough and the trough is what wakes you at 3 a.m.; the sleep maintenance page makes that case against fast-acting products directly. Spasticity is the second: the MS spasticity protocol prefers standard-onset gummies because the symptom is continuous. The third is the re-doser, who ate a second piece at minute twenty because the box said fifteen, and met both doses at minute fifty. Every label in the table above was written for that person, and the brands' own fine print, Wana's hour, Kanha's sixty minutes, Ayrloom's hour, agrees with the regulators once you read past the headline.

The verdict, by patient

Breakthrough pain: Ripple Pure 10 where it is sold, for the trial and the splittable dose; Wana Quick Relief elsewhere, at the $15 Michigan price rather than the $28 Colorado one. The neuropathic pain page explains why flares want speed and baselines do not.

Nausea: Ripple, stirred into something cold, at 2.5 to 5mg. A powder is the only format on this page a nauseated person can dose without chewing.

Panic: a 5mg piece, so Kanha NANO or Select Nano Bites, or a single Ayrloom 5mg can, never a $19 four-pack bought to find out whether 5mg helps.

Sleep onset for the re-doser, the person who reaches for a second gummy at midnight: one fast-acting 5mg piece an hour before bed, and the sleep onset page for the rest of the protocol.

The maintenance patient: none of these. Back to the gummy ranking, where the slow curve is the point and the price per 5mg is lower.